18

AN EMAIL I LIKE: A MODERN DAY CRUCIFIXION OF MAJOR LABELS

HOT TIP: Rip off Instagram
18
Transcript

No transcript...

Hey friends - I’m Seth Werkheiser, and I’m trying to help creative folk ditch social media and continue to thrive in a post-algorithm world.

I don’t usually post twice in one week, but here we are.

Today I’ve got a quick video for you about an email I like, this time from a band called Wargasm UK. If you don’t wanna watch, there’s a transcription provided above.

Don’t worry - even if you’re not a fiery rock act you can still get something from this video above - watch it, learn something from it (hopefully).

GOOD STUFF

Share the work of other artists and creative individuals in spaces like this.

“Social media distracted me, where I didn’t have the focus to be able to focus long enough on the work … social media was too distracting, where it constantly interrupted me and didn’t allow me to get to that place where I’m in the zone.”

Illustrator Samantha Cotterill from Can I Delete My Social Media?

“I have one piece of advice: if you read a book you love, tell other people about it. Tell them face-to-face. In your groupchat. On social media. Even on Goodreads. Every book is a lottery ticket, but the bezzlers are buying their tickets by the case: every time you tell someone about a book you loved (and even better, why you loved it), you buy a writer another ticket.”

From Cory Doctorow

“While author platform is important, I think new writers are particularly vulnerable to getting the order of operations wrong.

The author platform follows the work. Not the other way around.

Notably, none of the authors I admire had particularly robust social media platforms before they became successful.”

Mirella Stoyanova from ‘Author Platform Follows the Work


I’m Seth Werkheiser. You can support my writing by becoming a paid subscriber (click for more info). Write me, fight me: hey@sethw.xyz

18 Comments
SOCIAL MEDIA ESCAPE CLUB
Video Drops
I love replying to intriguing online queries about Substack, online marketing, writing, and more. Rather than put these videos on YouTube, I'm hosting them here. Enjoy.