Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

How to get the first few people to your online event

Be direct and start small!
3

I made the above video reply for my Substack pal

, who is “diving into the world of offering live events/workshops with the hope of building community and engaging more directly with my readers.”

You can find her original comment here.

“Unfortunately, I've had little to no engagement. I have around 370 subscribers and offer both free/donation based events and ticketed events… so far, I'll have 2-3 people sign up on Eventbrite but then not show up. This honestly makes me anxious because hosting a workshop for a live audience vs. doing a recorded workshop with NO audience has a very different flow! I'm not sure how to best prepare for a scenario I'm uncertain about until it's happening.”

Hosting these events can be a lot of fun, and build lots of goodwill among your subscribers, but getting them to show up can be a challenge!

Hopefully, this video is helpful. Every situation is unique, and every audience is different, so take everything I mention with a grain of salt and then apply it however to your process.

Drop a comment if you have any follow-up questions!

3 Comments
SOCIAL MEDIA ESCAPE CLUB
Video Drops
I love replying to intriguing online queries about Substack, online marketing, writing, and more. Rather than put these videos on YouTube, I'm hosting them here. Enjoy.